Fears (or lackthere of)

There are 14 weeks left until I depart for Ukraine. I always told myself everything would feel “real” when 2011 hit. After all, March 21 seems SO FAR AWAY! When will it be real? Probably not until im boarding my flight for the departure city (PA? DC? NY? I am secretly hoping for DC because I LOVE this city and I would really like to see where I used to live for nostalgia-sake). At this point I’m really not TOO fearful of anything. I think I should be…but I’m not. I guess I may have CONCERNS at this point; 1. Learning the language, being able to pick it up in a timely manner and communicate with Ukrainians. 2. Being a GOOD teacher. I don’t want to just go through the motions, I want to be a quality educator, making a difference in the lives of others.

These last 14 weeks feel like a blessing AND a curse! I have to work a 9-5 desk job I am not too stoked about MUCH longer then I had EVER anticipated and it’s getting OLD (quick!). On the other hand, I have a lot of time to spend with my family and friends! Also, I met a guy! We’re just dating (nothing serious, obviously) but sucks I’m meeting someone like him NOW! He’s really a nice guy and I’m very thankful to have him in my life for a good chunk of time before I have to say goodbye.

I hope Ukraine begins to feel real soon!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fears (or lackthere of)

  1. I keep thinking: “March is still quite a bit away.” But here we are, mid December! I keep waiting for my excitement/nervousness to peak, but it has yet to happen and I am sure I won’t have the “I AM GOING TO UKRAINE!” moment of elevated heart rate until the night before/morning of heading to staging. Have you tackled the Ukrainian Lessons yet? I am so focused on trying to get the sounds right that I haven’t made it past the first 3 lessons since I have decided I don’t want a heavy American accent in Ukrainian or Russian!

Leave a Reply

